



P.O. Box 21398 Columbia, South Carolina 29221-1398

Henry D. McMaster, Governor Mark A. Keel, Chief

Tel: (803) 737-9000

# NOTICE TO CWP INSTRUCTORS

## NEW LESSON PLAN TO COVER THE TRAINING TOPICS IN THE OPEN CARRY WITH TRAINING ACT (NOT MANDATORY UNTIL AUGUST 15, 2021)

On May 17, 2021 Governor Henry D. McMaster signed the Open Carry with Training Act into law. This Act has a 90-day implementation delay, so this law does not go into effect until August 15, 2021.

This law changed the "Proof of Training" requirements defined by S.C. Code Ann. § 23-31-210(4) that will be required on or after August 15, 2021. This means that all new CWP applications received or postmarked on or after August 15, 2021 must contain "Proof of Training" consistent with the updated legal requirements and there is no "grandfathering" for prior training that is received after that date.

In that regard, while it is not required until August 15, 2021, SLED encourages CWP Instructors to immediately begin utilizing the enclosed lesson plan that includes the new topics, which are:

- (v) properly securing a firearm in a holster;
- (vi) 'cocked and locked' carrying of a firearm;
- (vii) how to respond to a person who attempts to take your firearm from your holster; and
- (viii) deescalation techniques and strategies.

Any instructor who utilizes SLED's approved lesson plan is authorized to use the updated South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit Instructor Student Checklist. Use of this checklist will ensure that an applicant for a new CWP meets the updated "Proof of Training" requirements regardless of the date SLED receives the CWP application.

However, the use of this lesson plan is NOT a mandatory requirement until August 15, 2021 and any training that is currently approved will satisfy the current requirements of "Proof of Training" for new CWP applications so long as the application is received or postmarked **before August 15, 2021**.

Below is a Quick Reference Guide regarding the applicable dates for fees and training requirements.



An Accredited Law Enforcement Agency



Type of Application	Fee Required	Updated Proof of Training Required
Prior to August 15, 2021		
New CWP	Yes - \$50.00*	No
CWP Renewal	Yes - \$50.00*	No
Replacement	Yes - \$5.00	No
On or after August 15, 2021		
New CWP	No	Yes**
CWP Renewal	No	No
Replacement	No	No

### **QUICK REFERENCE GUIDE**

\* Except for disabled veterans and retired law enforcement officers. *See* S.C. Code Ann. § 23-31-215. \*\* Except for individuals addressed by S.C. Code Ann. § 23-31-210(4)(b), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (g).

## **LESSON PLAN COVER SHEET**

LESSON PLAN TITLE:		LESSON PLAN #:		TUS (New/Revised):		
CWP Instructor Updated Content 2021			Ne	ew		
TRAINING DEPARTMENT: South Carolina Law Enforcement Division		TIME ALLOCATION:				
PRIMARY INSTRUCTOR: SLED Regulatory Unit	ALT. INSTRUCT		LESSON PLA Captain Brian	N PREPARED BY: Truex		
DATE LESSON PLAN PREPARED: May 25, 2021						

#### **LESSON PLAN PURPOSE:**

To provide guidance to SLED Certified CWP instructors related to new content required to be instructed during CWP courses under the new "Open Carry with Training Law"

### **EVALUATION PROCEDURES:**

### TRAINING AIDS, SUPPLIES, EQUIPMENT, SPECIAL CLASSROOM/INSTRUCTIONAL REQUIREMENTS:

## **PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES**

LESSON PLAN TITLE:	<b>LESSON PLAN #:</b>	STATUS (New/Revised):
OPEN CARRY WITH TRAINING – CWP TOPICS		New

### **PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES:**

1. Provide guidance to CWP Instructors on the new instructional topics that will be required for "Proof of Training" on or after August 15, 2021.

## LESSON PLAN EXPANDED OUTLINE

LESSON PLAN TITLE:	<b>LESSON PLAN #:</b>	STATUS (New/Revised):
OPEN CARRY WITH TRAINING – CWP TOPICS		New

#### I. INTRODUCTION

Effective August 15, 2021 the Open Carry with Training Act changes the content required to be taught by CWP instructors.

This law changes the "Proof of Training" requirements defined by S.C. Code Ann. § 23-31-210(4) that will be required on or after August 15, 2021. This means that all new CWP applications received or postmarked on or after August 15, 2021 must contain "Proof of Training" consistent with the updated legal requirements.

As such, while it is not required at this time, SLED encourages CWP Instructors to immediately begin including these new topics into CWP training classes. Any instructor that incorporates this approved lesson plan into training can use the updated Student Checklist that is also enclosed.

### II. BODY

### A. ADDITIONAL TOPICS OF INSTRUCTION

1. SLED CWP Instructors may begin teaching the four additional topics required by the Open Carry with Training Act as part of the "Proof of Training" required for a CWP course prior to August 15, 2021. These topics are:

- a. properly securing a firearm in a holster;
- b. 'cocked and locked' carrying of a firearm;
- c. how to respond to a person who attempts to take your firearm from your holster;
- d. de-escalation techniques and strategies.

\*\* These topics are required for any application received or postmarked on or after August 15, 2021.

- 2. **Properly securing a firearm in a holster** SLED CWP Instructors shall instruct students on how to properly carry a firearm in a holster whether concealed or open carry. Instructors should discuss retention holsters, methods of retention, familiarization to include practicing drawing with a holster, and the importance of a retention holster when openly carrying to prevent the weapon from being easily taken.
- 3. **'Cocked and locked' carrying of a firearm** SLED CWP Instructors shall instruct students on the proper method of carry for single action firearms. Instructors should cover carrying a single action firearm with the hammer locked back and the safety engaged to prevent an accidental or negligent discharge while carrying. Although single action semi-automatic pistols are not common for concealed carry, the carrying of "1911" style pistols openly are more common, and instructors should address with all students the method of carry and what "cocked and locked" means as well as why it is important from a safety standpoint.

- 4. How to respond to a person who attempts to take your firearm from your holster SLED CWP Instructors shall instruct students on basic weapons retention defense to familiarize the student with how to stop someone from taking their weapon while open carrying. Instructors should discuss the risks of open carry with the students related to persons attempting to grab the weapon because it's visible to the public. Instructors should discuss with students' topics like, awareness, blading the body, verbal de-escalation, and defense techniques to defend against the weapon being taken. Basic weapons retention techniques after the weapon has been grabbed involve; grabbing the subject's hands to prevent the weapon from being removed from the holster, stepping down or away from the subject in a violent manner to dislodge their hands, and if possible, delivering a strike to the forearm to loosen the subject's grip.
- 5. De-escalation techniques and strategies SLED CWP Instructors shall instruct students on de-escalation techniques related to the use of deadly force, confrontations, and scenarios that may occur which may be legally justified by using deadly force but could be de-escalated. Instructors should discuss with students the criminal, civil, and mental ramifications related to using deadly force and how attempting to de-escalate a situation my be beneficial to the CWP holder. Using deadly force as a last resort should always be considered and when safe to do so, attempting to de-escalate a situation verbally can be a better option not resulting in death or injury to either party.